Travel Like a Local - Vacation Planning Guide and Twitter Party!

Thursday, September 27, 2012



There are some things that are just better the second time around. Not everything... but some things.

Sometimes, things are just better when you get to experience them again.

Take for example our yearly family vacation. It can be more memorable if you're familiar with the area. As opposed to knowing nothing about the area and coming unprepared. Like we did on our first family vacation.

Though we thoroughly enjoyed our first trip to Gatlinburg, Tennessee - our second trip was more efficient which resulted in more fun. Having been to the location previously, we were better able to plan and make arrangements for our second trip.

Months prior to our first trip - I spent a lot of time researching the area and compiling a list of attractions that we would visit. We enjoyed ourselves but ran into a lot of delays as we didn't know the area very well.

Knowing the area better after one visit - we were able to fill our second trip with attractions and locations most suitable for our family.

Tips to finding vacation information:

1 - Use an internet search to find favorite local attractions. Compile a list of places that fit your family and interests.

2 - Compare reviews of attractions on travel sites and blogs.

3 - Contact attractions for seasonal hours, policies and special rates.

4 - Use your social media resources to make inquiries on your vacation spot. Example: Send Facebook updates or Tweets asking for recommendations, ratings and opinions.

Having a better idea of the area and options available during your visit will result in much less time spent debating your next. The Gatlinburg Tip Guide available here was the itinerary I created based on using the above steps.  Also check out the Residence Inn Thrival Guide for local travel tips.

Join us for a Travel Like a Local Twitter Party on October 1!

WHEN: October 1, 9-10 pm EDT (8-9 pm CT; 7-8 pm MT; 6-7 pm PT)

WHO: Panelists @TravelingMoms @KimOrlando @CindyRichards @DebMomOf3 @chaotic_barb @verasweeney @maryheston @bloggymoms @Takingthekids @familytravel4um @ramblingstump @dipaolamomma @according2kelly @eightymphmom

WHAT: Twitter party – Travel Like a Local

HOW TO JOIN: Follow the hashtags #TMOM #RIThrival


a Rafflecopter giveaway